St. John’s College

In 1947, the Anglican Diocese, under the direction of Bishop Spence Burton, founded St. John’s College. Being the first secondary school of the Diocese, it was named after the patron saint of the Diocese. The school was located on Market Street North until 1979, when it was moved to its present campus on Bishop Eldon Drive, off Bethel Avenue. The sprawling campus sits on twenty-eight acres of property. Since 1947 St. John’s College has always encouraged its students to achieve academic excellence and uphold high moral standards. The many Bahamians holding positions of authority and making an invaluable contribution to the Bahamas evidence its many successes.

School Crest: The crest holds the Latin Ecce Agnus Dei (Behold the Lamb of God), the first words uttered by John the Baptist when he saw Jesus, according to St. John’s Gospel.
Motto: Respice, Adspice, Prospice: Look to the Past, Present and Future
School Hymn: “Praise to the Lord the Almighty”

With St. John’s in the west, St. Anne’s in the east, Bishop Michael Eldon School in the north and St. Andrew’s Anglican School in the south, the Anglican schools, by the grace of God will look to the past, to the present, and to the future to enlighten the minds of our youth as they discover the truth and challenge them to be wise through quality education.

 

St. John’s College
Bethel Ave
P.O. Box N-4858
Nassau, The Bahamas
P 242-322-3249
F 242-322-7941
info.sjc@aceaschools.org